Skip to content ↓

    "An Excellent Piece of Writing"

    Sixth Former’s article on ‘fake news’ wins essay writing competition.

    Kimbolton School Essay Competition WinnersCongratulations to Lower Sixth Former Shira Webb, who has won the 2017 Peter Smout Memorial Essay Writing Competition with her thoughts on the topic: ‘Should social media sites filter out fake news stories?' Competition entrants were asked to consider both sides of the debate, whilst presenting their own line of argument. They had to consider key issues, including:

    • Should companies like Facebook be responsible for the information spread and shared by their users?
    • Is it possible or right to police the internet?
    • Would the filtering out of ‘news’ and posts be a threat to freedom of speech?

    The annual competition, which takes place over the summer holidays, is open to all Senior School pupils. Thanks to the generosity of an anonymous Old Kimboltonian who thought highly of Peter Smout, a respected former Kimbolton Senior Master, it offers prizes of £200 for the overall winner, and £100 for the best runner up at both Senior (Fourth to Upper Sixth Form) and Junior (First to Third Form) levels.

    Competition organiser Mr Joseph Newsam said: “This year we had a record number of entries and the standard of essays was very high, with all students involved undertaking some impressive research. It was very difficult for the judges to distinguish between some first-rate pieces of work, with fine margins separating the best essays. The overall winner however, with an excellent piece of writing which will appear in the next copy of the Kimboltonian, is Shira Webb.”

    Here are the competition results in full:

    Overall Winner: Shira Webb

    Junior (First to Third Forms)
    Runners Up (joint): Annabelle Hunt and Noah Sanderson 
    Highly Commended: Jasmine Henson, Luke Hookham, Sophie McInnes-Smith, Sophie O’Donnell, Alice Oldfield and Emily Sparkes.

    Senior (Fourth to Upper Sixth Forms)
    Runners Up (joint): Hattie Dent and Lotty Wylde
    Highly Commended: Alice Napier and Katherine Watson