Skip to content ↓

    Kimbolton Model United Nations Competition

    Students from the First to Sixth Form research and debate international issues.

    More than 50 students from all year groups attended the sixth annual Kimbolton Model United Nations competition on 18 November. This involved research and debate into a range of controversial international issues, with the aim being to represent the views of a particular country. Teams of three represented their country in one of three committees in the morning, before regrouping to try and resolve an international crisis in the afternoon.

    In the morning, the Human Rights Committee debated access to education and the right to vote. Runners up, and highly commended were Grace Sanderson representing the UK and Trinity Pollard Strutt representing North Korea, whilst the winner was Joseph Benton representing France.

    The Science Committee debated animal experimentation and the decommissioning of nuclear power plants. In a very close contest, runners up, and highly commended were Charlotte Rose, Oscar Williamson and Aryaki Soni, representing Australia, Japan and Germany respectively, whilst the winner representing the UK was Christopher Bowland.

    And in a very competitive Political Committee containing over 20 of the school's most experienced debaters, Kiana Stokes and Holly Lamb, both representing India, and Joe Lee and Ben King, both representing France deserve particular thanks for sharing the chairing and judging duties of the beginners' Human Rights Committee as well as putting in strong debating performances of their own. However, in the end both they and Anushka Shukla as Australia were judged to have been runners-up just behind overall winner Hattie Dent representing Russia.

    Finally, the overall winning country, for consistently strong performances by all members in the three committees and for showing excellent teamwork during the afternoon's emergency, which focused on the implications of an unlikely new friendship between the USA and North Korea, was the delegation from Australia, represented by Anushka Shukla, Charlotte Rose and Sam Danton.